Waspish Wednesday: The Chair! AUGH!

I just . . . I can’t even. . . . WTF, people, WTF? I’m incoherent with frustration. At. The. End. Of. My. Rope.

Spent all of Monday going to people who built it. SAID they fixed it. Brought it home. Plugged it in. Next morning, dead. DEAD!

They are offering another solution that I don’t think will work. Don’t know what to do. Beside myself.

If there was any other freakin’ option for a powerchair that can handle rural conditions and doesn’t cost as much as a sporty new SUV, I would take it. AUGH!

I don’t want advice, I just want to vent. I just want to be able to take Barnum for walks!!! Why should that be so frickin’ hard?!?!?! AUGH!!!

For now, I’m sleeping on it. I have some ideas for gathering more information, too.

I’m overloaded with too many other things to work on right now, anyway — training Barnum, various writing projects, NVC homework — so it will just sit there like a useless behemoth until I decide what to do next. That is all.

- Sharon, the muse of Gadget (her old chair worked for me), and Barnum, SDiT (why don’t you take me to the pond anymore?)

P.S. AUGH! AUUUUUUUUUUGH! AAAARRRRRRGGGHHHH!!!!

11 Responses to “Waspish Wednesday: The Chair! AUGH!”


  1. 1 rememberingniko July 13, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    “AUGH! AUUUUUUUUUUGH! AAAARRRRRRGGGHHHH!!!!” warranted!

    • 2 Sharon Wachsler July 28, 2011 at 1:57 am

      Thanks, hon! I just rescued this out of the spam folder. I guess WP thinks a reply consisting mostly of “AUUUUUGH!” must be spam. No, no, how wrong they are. ;-)

  2. 3 Karyn July 13, 2011 at 12:52 pm

    I hear ya- been there done that. I wish I could tap a magic wand and have it presto- work like a new chair should.
    Hugs

  3. 5 Vivian July 13, 2011 at 1:30 pm

    So sorry to hear that you’re having so much trouble with your power chair. I hope you’re able to find a solution soon.

    Vivian

  4. 7 brilliantmindbrokenbody July 13, 2011 at 10:05 pm

    I find throwing empty pillbottles to be theraputic, when I’m that frustrated.

    *HUG* Hope a solution presents itself soon.

    ~Kali

  5. 9 L^2 July 14, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Wow, I am frustrated for you! This power chair business is quite ridiculous. Especially because it’s purple & purple should always = excellence (not awesomely badness!) in my opinion. ;-) I know it’s not really helpful to you at all, but I really wish I could do something to help. *hugs*

    • 10 Sharon Wachsler July 15, 2011 at 12:48 am

      I know! Thank you! Yes, they say they have never had a problem with a chair like this before. Maybe it is painted purple, but really, it should be yellow, cuz it’s a LEMON! ARGH!

      • 11 Karyn July 17, 2011 at 4:50 pm

        I have heard those kinds of comments before- the *never had this problem before* or *this type of problem* Its only when you know enough others who have had the same or similar problems that its an issue. Here’s my question- what in the creation of the chair was original brand new equipment and was the makeup of the chair electronics designed for a chair with such large wheels and drive. I’ve been getting a bit of an education from my Dad about that over the past few years as I contemplated things to try to get me a working second power chair. One of the things I learned is that motors are very much set for specific criteria in terms of the drive wheel size. For instance you can varry it a little bit but if you tried to go from large 20’s to smaller wheels like my P200 has, the end result would be burning out the motors. I don’t understand the entire concept so it’d probably be over your head since its over mine. Suffice to say I imagine the same is true for the brain (module controller) because I was for instance told that in terms of the module controller the ones on my Quickies are not interchangeable nor are the ones on my two Invacare chairs.
        If this is the case especially on two Invacare chairs that are only 3 years different in age, I would think the biggest problem may be that he is combining parts like a child building a tower with blocks- sometimes the tower stands, other times it crumbles before he even completes the second level.


Comments are currently closed.



Receive new blog posts right in your email!

Join 547 other followers

Follow AfterGadget on Twitter

Want to Support this Blog?

About this Blog

Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

Read Previous After Gadget Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 547 other followers

