Taking Blogging Hiatus

Dear readers,

I’ve decided to take a hiatus from blogging. I don’t have a length of time in mind or any hard-and-fast rules about this at all. There are many topics I want to blog about right now: Lyme disease treatment in dogs, ticks and Lyme prevention in general, grief, the overlap between NVC and clicker, disability rights issues, and of course, training Barnum.

However, it’s hard to do things and blog. Right now it’s more important to me to train Barnum than to blog about training him. We are doing Leading the Dance right now, and it’s largely because I didn’t attend to behavior problems that started out as tiny and have now become habits. He needs a lot more foundation work and consistency. That takes a lot of energy for me, both in terms of training sessions, as well as all-day, every-day attention to detail in his behavior.

There are also a slew of things I can or need to do in the summer that can’t happen in the winter — like going anywhere for public access training or taking walks — as well as a lot of house-care stuff that I’ve been too sick to do since I’ve lived in my current home. Spring/summer has come early to New England, and I’d like to take advantage of this to get my house in order, both literally and figuratively.

I plan to continue to participate in the Assistance Dog Blog Carnival. (If you haven’t already, check out the call for submissions for the April issue at plays with puppies.) I hope, if I have time and energy, to finish and post some of the many posts that are halfway written, and maybe to post if something momentous occurs.

I also hope to write for Ability Maine, as much as I’m able. We’re working on getting a blog set up for that so people can comment on the articles. I’ll try to post a link here when I have new material up at AM, and hopefully some of you will join me there. Right now, there are two excellent articles up (yeah, I’m not ashamed to say it); one by Mike Reynolds and the other, an interview I did with medical investigative reporter, Arnold Mann.

We’ll be back!

- Sharon and Barnum

1 Response to “Taking Blogging Hiatus”


  1. 1 wendy March 26, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Take care of you, things, and Barnum!
    See you soon!!

    wendy


Comments are currently closed.



Receive new blog posts right in your email!

Join 546 other followers

Follow AfterGadget on Twitter

Want to Support this Blog?

About this Blog

Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

Read Previous After Gadget Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

