This Brain Left Intentionally Blank

This blog post brought to you by repeated doses of my special migraine cocktail and my very unstylish, but fabulously effective, light-blocking sunglasses.

I’ve been working so hard on the mumblemumble that I haven’t managed to get the two other After Gadget posts up that are mostly done. One of which relates to the mumblemumble.

But, some time soon, I’ll post “Squirrels Gone Wild!” and the other one. . . .

Meanwhile, my butt has been glued to the bed (not really, because I can’t tolerate adhesives), I’ve been using my brain too much, and now I have The Neverending Migraine. (It’s like The Neverending Story, but without the fluffy flying dog-like dragonish thing.)

So, a little time off. Which is what Barnum has been getting all week. He is so bored.

He tried the guilt thing for a while. . . .

Closeup of Barnum with his chin resting on the bed, staring straight into the camera with sad, pleading puppy dog eyes.

"Mom? I'm bored, Mom. Are you going to stare at the black box all day again?... Mom?"

But eventually he gave up. . . .

Barnum inside his crate, lying in "dead bug position," asleep with his head thrown back, all his legs in the air, just letting it all hang out! He is lying on a tan puffy dog bed inside the crate, and there is a red Kong against his butt.

I don't know how he manages to sleep in this position, but he does!

Adorable? Definitely. Dignified? Um….

So, yeah, more blogs much later tonight or tomorrow, including a surprise I’ve never tried before!

Speaking of things I’ve never tried before, all week I have been tweeting and FaceBooking (is there a verb yet for using FB?) and status-updating at other social forums (fora?) for chronic illness for the you-know-what. I have done more social networking in five days than I have ever done before in my life, combined!

It’s been a learning experience. In fact, a friend of mine who also blogs and is working on the auction mentioned that her blog has a fan page on FB. That had never occurred to me. Then I wondered, “Should I do that?”

Therefore, a question for you all: If I set up an After Gadget page, would you “Like” it?

I’m not sure what I’d post. Barnum pictures, definitely. Funny, happy, or weird little things that happen with Barnum that are too short for blog posts — most likely.

Links to grief resources for the grief resources pages I haven’t finished  yet, for sure.

Updates about the Assistance Dog Blog Carnival (links to posts, lines I like, reminders, links to the next host, etc.), maybe. Would that be useful?

I could also do stuff WordPress doesn’t allow, like giveaways or something.

Still noodling. What do you think? Be honest. I won’t be offended if there isn’t interest.

If you want to follow me on Twitter, you can do that already. My handle is aftergadget. (I know. You’re surprised.)

I can’t promise that I’ll tweet anything particularly fascinating, or frequent, or funny, but maybe. Who knows? I pestered celebrities this week (with some success), so anything may be possible.

– Sharon, the muse of Gadget (she can be soooooo boring sometimes), and Barnum, SDiT? (OMG. First the surgery, now this! I want to work! Can we train? Please?)

19 Responses to “This Brain Left Intentionally Blank”


  1. 1 Laura May 20, 2011 at 10:19 pm

    I think you should totally do the “like” on FB. And do all those things you mentioned above 🙂 Love reading your blogs.

  2. 2 Sharon Wachsler May 20, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Thanks, Laura! You have been such a terrific supporter of my blog, since the beginning. I’m very grateful for that.

  3. 3 Vicki May 20, 2011 at 11:01 pm

    I would like it!

  4. 4 Courtenay May 20, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Vote for a FB page for AfterGadget. Would be fun to see more pics of barnum!

  5. 5 Sharon Wachsler May 20, 2011 at 11:47 pm

    Thanks, Vicki and Courtenay!

  6. 6 Kat May 21, 2011 at 12:56 am

    Barnum would make a great luck dragon! Now all we need is an Auryn and Fantasia!

    (The Neverending Story is only the best movie EVAR!)

  7. 7 kendra May 21, 2011 at 8:11 am

    you: my special migraine cocktail and my very unstylish, but fabulously effective, light-blocking sunglasses.

    me: please share details? what’s in cocktail? migraines are lifelong issue that takes constant balancing.

    just yesterday, was recommended something like Irlen glasses? need help with light-sensitive–ALL senses overload!

    yes, do FB–altho at present i cannot.

    IF i ever get well enough to dialog more, clear i need to start blog, fb, etc. could i hire you to help me get it started, organized?

  8. 8 Ashley May 21, 2011 at 10:54 am

    How did I not know you had twitter? As much as I love your blog, I imagine I’ll love your tweets just as much.
    If you made an After Gadget facebook, I would absolutely “like” it!

  9. 9 Brooke & Cessna May 21, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I just added you on Twitter 🙂

    I would totally “like” an After Gadget page!

    Migraines are also a constant struggle over here. Luckily Codeine and Torodol dumbs down some of the pain along with the ability to “ignore” the rest and live life 🙂

  10. 10 L^2 May 22, 2011 at 11:38 am

    If you made an AfterGadget FB page I would definitely “like” it. I set up one for Dog’s Eye View about a year ago, but I don’t really use it – the blog’s feed appears there (whenever FB randomly decides to fetch it), but that’s pretty much it. It’s just one more thing to keep track of…. 😉

  11. 11 MiMo May 22, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    I don’t do FB, but I’m following you on twitter now 🙂

  12. 12 Sharon Wachsler May 22, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    Yes, I’m a litter scared of that. I spend so much time on the computer already. Need to spend more time D O G T R A I N I N G.

  13. 13 Sharon Wachsler May 22, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    Thank you, Ashley. I have Twitter low-self esteem. I’m still learning it. I find it hard to keep myself to >139 characters. (I’m a freelance writer. I count WORDS, not characters. Sheesh.)

  14. 14 Sharon Wachsler May 22, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    @Kat, yeah, I’d forgotten that’s what they were called. I read the book, then saw the movie, then read the book. I found the movie kind of ruined my idea of the “nothing” though. It’s very hard to cinematically show the ravages of encroaching nothingness. I think they did a good job with it, I just then had an image in my mind where I’d worked hard to conjure the image of nothingness. (Wow, practice for meditation as a kid, and I didn’t know it!)

  15. 15 Sharon Wachsler May 22, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Kendra, I will email you my cocktail.

    Although, here’s one really weird treatment that sometimes helps, if I get on the migraine ahead of time and it’s not a severe one. It’s called Sinus Buster. It’s cayenne pepper nasal spray. Yes, it’s a bit painful, and it seems ridiculous, but it actually sometimes works. No idea why.

    My eye doc didn’t suggest a brand, just to try shades, and to try different colors to see if there was a shade (no pun intended) that worked better for me. In the end, black was the best, by far.

    I would love to help you with a blog, etc.! This experience of the last 2-3 weeks has shown me I have blog skills and social network skills and stuff I didn’t realize I had! (Nor that they were “skills.”) So, it would be great to be able to put that to use!

  16. 16 Sharon Wachsler May 22, 2011 at 9:17 pm

    Brooke,

    Yeah, totally. I do pretty much the same, except Torodol, shudder. I took that once (it was Gadget’s, and I was in so much pain, and we’d run out of everything else for me to try that I wasn’t allergic to, so my MD said to go ahead and take one of his), and it made me feel so weird. I was still in pain, but I felt all funny. Like, disconnected.

    Everyone’s chemistry is so different. What I take would make many others I know really sick.

  17. 17 Sharon Wachsler May 22, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Mimo, ok, I hope you’re not regretting it. I’ll stop shouting about the auction pretty soon. Then I’ll probly get boring and hardly ever tweet. Oh dear. So much to live up to. I’m not ready for the 21st century yet.

  18. 18 MiMo May 23, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    why would I regret it? No need to apologize for promoting a good and important fundraiser!
    I follow all sorts of people, from people I know to people who tweet about topics I care about to bloggers I read to people who just sounded interesting. I don’t have any particular “must be this funny” or “must post this often” standards for people I follow. Although funny dog stories are always welcome 🙂

  19. 19 Sharon Wachsler May 26, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    Aw, thank you. OK, as I tweet, I am getting more relaxed and confident. Your words help a lot! Thank you!


Comments are currently closed.



Receive new blog posts right in your email!

Join 574 other followers

Follow AfterGadget on Twitter

Want to Support this Blog?

About this Blog

Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

Read Previous After Gadget Posts


