Silly Saturday (Edited)

My replacement battery came today. Things got moved around between now and a week ago, and we can’t figure out how the battery wiring harnesses attach to the battery. So, I am stuck waiting around while I get advice from more knowledgable people. (Yes, I did read the manual. The diagrams suggest one thing, the written instructions another.)

[NOTE: This post has been edited. I originally had a pun up here, using a photo, and I got some feedback that it could be triggering or in poor taste or just generally making light of an issue that is quite serious. So, I have taken down the joke. You can read the discussion about it in the comments. I asked Betsy about it, as well, and she said something like, “I wouldn’t necessarily say offensive, but maybe poor taste because it’s a serious issue. But it’s also so very you (your sense of humor).” So, I thought that summed things up pretty well.

I regret any pain my joke might have caused any of my readers. I will try to be more mindful in the future.

Peace,

Sharon]

– Sharon (giddy from hunger and lack of sleep), the muse of Gadget (I don’t get it), and Barnum, SDiT (I went to the pond today! Wooha!)

6 Responses to “Silly Saturday (Edited)”


  1. 1 staticnonsense July 30, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    while not triggering for myself, i do worry that this joke could be triggering for assault/battery victims. i suppose it’s possible that i’m reading into this wrong, and i do understand how much a lack of sleep can do. but that’s the first impression i got, being an abuse survivor. i just figured i would give you a heads up about the possible implications and i hope you understand.

  2. 2 Sharon Wachsler July 30, 2011 at 4:25 pm

    Hi SN,

    Thank you for commenting. Um, I’m not sure what to do. It doesn’t seem like posting a trigger warning would make sense, because it’s in the title, itself. And there’s no actual abuse content, so if the title was triggering, I don’t think the rest of the post would be any more so. . . .

    It can be hard to know where the lines are for trigger warnings. I think if you post a link to something and it’s about a violent event, it makes sense to post that. Like at FWD, they would say, “Trigger warning: rape and murder of people with disabilities” or whatever, when linking to an article about that.

    But for a lot of things, it’s so individual what’s triggering. When I first got MCS, for the first year or so, when I was spending all my time and energy on how to avoid chemical exposures, and I watched a lot of TV, any advertisement for perfume or fabric softener, etc., which was A LOT of ads, would at first make me go, *gasp* and have an urge to flee, and I’d have to tell myself, “No, it’s just an image. It can’t hurt you.” Eventually, I just learned that if an ad for fragrance products came on, they didn’t upset me, but I didn’t like to watch them, so I flipped the channel. I wouldn’t be surprised if other people with MCS experience this, too. But since virtually everything that is advertised can be a chemical assault for people with MCS, there’s no way to put a trigger warning on any of it. And if you asked most people if there should be a trigger warning for the Snuggle bear, they’d look at you like you had three heads, so. . . .

    I dunno. Are you saying, in essence, that the joke is in bad taste and offensive and you would prefer if I took down the post?

    Now I’ve written a comment that is several times longer than the post!

  3. 3 Sharon Wachsler July 30, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    P.S. I was serious that I would really like your opinion, and I am perfectly willing to remove the post and would not at all be offended. I just find this issue in general very confusing, because I know there are words, sounds, topics, sights (not to mention smells!), that are incredibly triggering and/or a form of assault for me and people I know that would not at all make sense for others. In fact, I avoid the use of dozens and dozens of words in my posts because I know someone who reads my blog would be triggered by them, whereas almost nobody else in the world would. I didn’t think this would be triggering, because there is no actual violence in the post, but maybe I am wrong. It’s certainly not an important post, so if it is problematic, I would take it down.

  4. 4 staticnonsense July 30, 2011 at 5:12 pm

    i think in a situation like this i would liken it to other jokes that frequently utilize the same sort of mechanics, albeit likely with different intentions. or say, someone talking about a sports game they recently watched and say that one team completely ‘raped’ the other. in such situations it’s often pointed out that it’s not a matter of trigger warnings that are a problem, tho triggers are frequently a result – but rather the fact that such subjects utilized in such a half-hearted and joking fashion can lessen the severity of the subject in one’s given society as the subject is not taken very seriously at all. in which case trigger warnings would be useless, esp since you’re right in that it doesn’t involve violence in itself – the damage would already be done by showing to one’s peers that joking about people’s lives and experiences in such fashions is an ok thing to do. that is a large part of what hurts us even after one’s situation changes.

    i hope i’m making sense, my head is really fuzzy right now so if i’m being unclear please let me know. and like i said, i know you mean no ill intent. that is why i feel comfortable enough to bring this up with you. being able to discuss this is helping me, at the very least. i wouldn’t say that the entire thing should be removed, tho the joke itself probably would be a good idea. if it is alright with you, i would like this dialogue to still be available.

    and thank you for your openness and willingness to listen, that is something i am eternally grateful for.

  5. 5 Sharon Wachsler July 30, 2011 at 8:23 pm

    SN,

    You are definitely making sense, and I appreciate you using your time and energy on this. You are probably speaking for others, too, who didn’t feel up to dealing with this. And if I have caused any of my readers pain, I feel sad about that.

    Given my experience in working against date rape, domestic violence, gay bashing, self-defense, etc., you would think I wouldn’t need these kind of reminders, or reframings, and yet I really just thought it was a fun, silly thing. I’m not making the “I meant well so too bad for you if it upsets you” argument. I’m not arguing at all, I’m just trying to figure out what to do now and in the future.

    I certainly have many survivors of violence in my life, and they often have the same sense of humor as me, so it hasn’t come up in this context before. I think it’s that I have a streak of humor from my earliest childhood of loving puns, and not really thinking much about the words outside of the punning context. If I were to hear “rape” used to describe a sports defeat, that would definitely stop me in my tracks. I guess because there is no context to the pun that I didn’t think about it.

    You said: ” i wouldn’t say that the entire thing should be removed, tho the joke itself probably would be a good idea. if it is alright with you, i would like this dialogue to still be available.”

    If not sure what the “joke” refers to here, because I think pretty much the whole post is just the one joke. So, are you saying your preference me to remove the photo and caption, only? Or to change the title of the post, too? Obviously I’d put something in the original post to explain the change and tell people to read the comments. There isn’t much in the post aside from the photo and setup. I’m way wiped, so I’m moving slow, mentally and physically.

  6. 6 staticnonsense August 3, 2011 at 10:26 am

    my apologies for not getting back to you sooner, work leaves me quite wiped. but i did want to make sure it was said that i do greatly appreciate the edit and your willingness to listen about the issue. and my apologies if i was being unclear earlier, brain fuzzy, but it appears that we ended up on the same page which is quite relieving.

    so yes, thank you!

    well wishes and spoons to you,

    sn


Comments are currently closed.



Receive new blog posts right in your email!

Join 572 other followers

Follow AfterGadget on Twitter

Want to Support this Blog?

About this Blog

Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

Read Previous After Gadget Posts


