Assistance Dog Blog Carnival #6 Seeking Entries!

It’s ADBC time again, folks! (If you’re not familiar with the Assistance Dog Blog Carnival, you can read all about it here.)

The host for this edition is Cait at Dogstar Academy. The theme she’s chosen is “Obstacles,” and she has some nifty thoughts to ponder on the topic.

Assistance Dog Blog Carnival graphic. A square graphic, with a lavender background. A leggy purple dog of unidentifiable breed, with floppy ears and a curly tail, in silhouette, is in the center. Words are in dark blue, a font that looks like it's dancing a bit.

There should be no obstacles to a great carnival!

I didn’t see a deadline in her call for entries, but she indicates she plans to publish the carnival on January 29, so assume you have to get your posts to her before that date, at the very least. (If she posts an update, I’ll modify this post to give the deadline.)

Check out her call for submissions!

And please share, tweet, and generally spread the word about this carnival so that anyone who might like to participate has time. For those who are planning on posting, may you find no obstacles in your path.

– Sharon, the muse of Gadget, and Barnum, SDiT

3 Responses to “Assistance Dog Blog Carnival #6 Seeking Entries!”


  1. 1 Savannah Logsdon-Breakstone January 13, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    Hey Sharon,

    I’m not sure where to put this, but I was reading the accessibility tips that are linked to in the about for the carnival ( http://chronicbabeclub.ning.com/group/chronicbabebloggers/forum/topics/cheat-sheet-in-process-making ) and wanted to add a resource for captioning/subtitling!

    http://www.universalsubtitles.org/en/ is a great tool for captioning. it’s easy to use, and you don’t have to be the one to do the captions. You link to the video that needs captions and add it to the database, and then you can link people who can do captioning to the link so that they can transcribe and time captions for you. You can then review them and download the captions (or link to the page for that set of captions) and use them!

    I recently did the captions for the Loud Hands Project’s Trailer- I’d already done a visual description (there’s no dialogue, only visuals, so that was done before the fundraising went live) but it was requested that the lyrics to the long used was captioned so I did it. You can see the resulting captions (Which have been downloaded and then uploaded to the youtube by the person running the LHP youtube account) at the following link: http://www.universalsubtitles.org/en/videos/mXR8a1CQgzOs/

    You can see my account there- with some videos of mine and some I’ve captioned either for others or because I’ve wanted to use a video and it didn’t have captions- at the following link: http://www.universalsubtitles.org/en/profiles/profile/nicocoer/

    Yay collaborative design for acccessibility!

    Sorry they aren’t linked to descriptively, I can’t tell if HTML is enabled for your comments.

  2. 2 Sharon January 24, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    Savannah,
    Wonderful, wonderful info and resources! Thank you! I have been too overwhelmed with other stuff and being sick lately to actually go check this site out, but if it does what you say, that will be AWESOME and save me A LOT of spoons!
    I would like to post this comment, in its entirety, at the Chronic Babe Bloggers page where I have the access “cheat sheet.” Would that be OK with you? And if so, would you like me to credit you or link it back to your blog or something? Please give me info exactly as you want it, as I am a bear of very little brain today.

  3. 3 Savannah Logsdon-Breakstone January 24, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    Please do link it anywhere and everywhere it’s relevant! 😀 😀 😀

    I guess you could have like a “via Savannah” thing and have my name link to my blog? 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Receive new blog posts right in your email!

Join 569 other followers

Follow AfterGadget on Twitter

Want to Support this Blog?

About this Blog

Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

Read Previous After Gadget Posts


