Announcing the Assistance Dog Blog Carnival!

**UPDATE**

The Assistance Dog Blog Carnival is now taking place! Read Assistance Dog Blog Carnival #1! Enjoy!

* * *

Woohoo! Thank you to everyone who commented on my idea to hold an AD Carnival! In response to your enthusiastic support, I’m announcing the first carnival topic and deadline, plus answering your questions about what a carnival is, how it works, and how you can participate!

What Is a Blog Carnival?

Wikipedia has a good general definition:

A blog carnival . . . is similar to a magazine, in that it is dedicated to a particular topic, and is published on a regular schedule. . . . Each edition of a blog carnival is in the form of a blog article that contains permalinks to other blog articles on the particular topic.

Carnival posts are generally collated by the author by soliciting relevant contributions. . . [S/he then] collects links to these submissions, edits and annotates them and publishes the resulting round-up. . . . Many carnivals have a . . . principal organizer, who lines up guest bloggers to host each edition. . . . The carnival travels, appearing on a different blog each time.

How Will the Assistance Dog Carnival Work?

Currently, the plan is to hold it quarterly, guest hosted by a different AD-related blog each time. (More details on this below.) I guess After Gadget will be the official home/principal organizer, until or unless someone else wants to take the job off my hands!

Who Can Submit Posts?

Anyone can submit a post. You need only have a blog, and your post must relate to the topic of guide, hearing, or service dogs (and fit that issue’s theme — see below about themes), even if your blog is not typically about assistance dogs.

Posts can be about puppy raising, SDiTs, programs/schools, retired SDs, perspectives on ADs from people with disabilities not partnered with ADs, or anything else relating to the topic of assistance dogs. You do not need to be an AD partner or trainer to submit. Posts from personal blogs as well as from AD organization blogs are welcome.

What Will the Assistance Dog Carnival Be About?

Topics will vary with each edition. The host for each edition will announce their theme at least a couple of weeks ahead of time (maybe more, if possible, to give us people with deadline issues a chance to get something in?), along with the deadline for submissions and expected publication date.

Examples of themes from the Disability Blog Carnival include identity, distance, and disability and work. In the Patients for a Moment (PFAM) blog carnival, there was “love or other four-letter-words” and “your most laugh-out-loud-illness-moment,” among others.

I tend to like themes that are broad and can be interpreted many different ways, because that gives bloggers creative freedom and makes for a diverse group of posts to read. On the other hand, sometimes it’s nice to know what you’ll be reading, thematically.

Who Is Hosting This Year’s Carnival?

The first host will be me, right here — theme and deadline announcement below! — and our delightful hosts for the next three carnivals are as follows:

Yay! Thank you for stepping up!

Future hosts and dates to be determined.

When Will the First Assistance Dog Blog Carnival Be Announced?

Right this very instant coffee.

The theme for the first carnival will be . . . “The First”!

The first . . . what? That’s up to the bloggers.

The first time you met your new guide, the first service dog you had, the first time your AD alerted to your medical condition, your first experience as a puppy raiser, how you dealt with your first access denial, the first thought that pops into your head when you see an AD team, the fear you had to get over first before you decided to partner with a canine assistant . . . the possibilities are endless!

The deadline for submission is Tuesday, October 19, by midnight of whatever time zone you’re in. The carnival will be published a few days later. (How fast I can put it together depends on  how many submissions I get and how functional and/or busy I am that week.)

Bloggers can submit posts any time between now and the 18th by commenting here, below, with the name of the blog, the name of the post, and the URL for that post. You can either write something new especially for the carnival (which is nice, but not required) or post a link to a blog you’ve already written that fulfills the theme. Just be sure the link is live and the post is already up when you submit it, so I can go read your submission when I’m putting together the carnival.

Making your blog as accessible as possible to people with as many different disabilities as possible is encouraged, although it is not required. Here is one resource for learning about some basic things you can do to make your blog more accessible.

I’ve tried to answer all possible questions, so that probably means I’ve forgotten something. Feel free to ask in the comments section.

I’m really excited that this is happening! Thanks to everyone who has commented, volunteered, and is otherwise contributing! And please, spread the word! Write about the carnival on your blog, post links, tweet, etc. Thank you!

Kisses from Barnum.

-Sharon and the muse of Gadget

 

42 Responses to “Announcing the Assistance Dog Blog Carnival!”


  1. 1 Beverly Cain October 6, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    I think I might join you. I have an idea of something to write. But will have to be tomorrow I write it. I am exhausted from MI issues today. Hope you and Barnum have a great night.

  2. 2 Sharon Wachsler October 6, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    Hey Beverly,
    Great! Take your time. You have a couple weeks to get the post up. 🙂
    Barnum is doing terrific in every way except this dang UTI won’t let go. We were on 2 weeks of Clavamox, and now are starting 10 days of Baytril. When it’s not under control, he just suddenly pees, wherever he is. Tonight, that was in his crate, on his organic — unwashable — dog bed. The cover zips off and is washable, but that’s a LOT of pee, and it soaks through…. Ugh.
    Otherwise, he’s a honey.

  3. 3 Beverly Cain October 7, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Nova our husky was on Bactrim for over 4 weeks to control hers. I had to have my boyfriend give it to her and clean her up afterward due to allergies.

  4. 4 Linda Alberda October 7, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Here is my submission for the first Assistance Dog Blog Carnival
    From Puppy to Public Access
    Two of the Most Important Firsts in my Assistance Dog Journey to Date
    http://frompuppytopublicaccess.blogspot.com/2010/10/two-of-most-important-firsts-in-my.html

  5. 5 Cait October 7, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    I’m really sorry I didn’t get my submission and topic in early enough. While I still want to host well… Kaylee’s going to be retiring soonish and I wanted to do it when it was actually thematic and stuff. Oh well. 🙂 Mine submission for this one will be up soon.

  6. 6 Cathy O'Connor October 8, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Neat! Count me ‘n Bosley in!

  7. 7 Sharon Wachsler October 9, 2010 at 3:24 am

    Yay! Thank you, Linda. I look forward to reading it!

  8. 8 Sharon Wachsler October 9, 2010 at 3:27 am

    Cait, excellent, I look forward to your sub!
    I’m sorry to hear Kaylee will be retiring. That is so difficult.
    Maybe one of the upcoming themes will work for the post you have in mind about Kaylee….
    Anyway, hopefully the carnival will live long and prosper, and you will be able to host in the future with a topic you cannot now imagine. . . .

  9. 9 Sharon Wachsler October 9, 2010 at 3:27 am

    OK! You’re counted! I look forward to your submission!

  10. 10 Ashley aka The CRPS Girl October 9, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I’ve got my post up!
    The CRPS Girl
    The First Outing: Assistance Dog Blog Carnival
    http://thecrpsgirl.blogspot.com/2010/10/first-outing-assistance-dog-blog.html

  11. 11 Ro October 9, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Wonderful! I thought about just sending one I’ve already written, but then came up with something new. I’ll write it soon. 🙂

    So when you organize it, do you just link to all our posts or do you post it on your blog? You mention editing it. Just curious.

  12. 12 Sharon Wachsler October 10, 2010 at 8:43 am

    WOnderful that all these posts are coming in!

    @Ro – I write a little blurb or intro to each post along with the link, so readers have an idea of what the blog’s about. Something like that.

  13. 13 Allison Nastoff October 10, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    This is a wonderful idea! I received my first guide dog through an in-home training program, so if you read my blog, you will notice my training with Gilbert was a little different than the typical experience of going to a school. Here is a reflection I wrote on my blog on the one year anniversary of the start of training, and the emotional moment when my first guide dog entered my house and my life for the first time.
    Gilbert and Me: Life with my Guide Dog
    http://anastoff.livejournal.com/12220.html

  14. 14 Curasmom October 11, 2010 at 3:41 am

    I thought it might be nice to have a button that everyone could put on their website. I am not exactly creative when it comes to these types of things, but I took a stab at it. Here it is (I hope) . . .

    If you like it, let me know and I will post it to my blog so that it links with your blog and make it available to anyone who wants to use it.

  15. 15 Curasmom October 11, 2010 at 3:44 am

    Well, it looks like that didn’t work — I can email it to you if you like . . . just let me know.

  16. 16 Jenny October 11, 2010 at 3:40 pm

    I mentioned this on my blog yesterday, so hopefully some new people will see it and participate. I haven’t thought of something to write about yet, apart from the first time I met my guide dog, which I remember like it was yesterday.
    Great idea and I’m looking forward to reading all the other posts.

  17. 17 Sharon Wachsler October 11, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    Hi Curasmom,
    I’m not sure what you mean by button. Is this something that would be like the logo for the AD blog carnival? I had thought it might be nice to have something like that, but I didn’t feel ready to tackle it yet.
    Yes, I’ll email you.
    Anyone else out there artistically inclined?
    Other comments about the button or logo idea?

  18. 18 Sharon Wachsler October 11, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Hi Jenny,
    Thank you very much for posting on your blog! The first time you met your guide sounds like a great story — especially if you remember it like it was yesterday! It’s great to have all those details still so fresh in your mind.

  19. 20 Ro October 13, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    Ok, here’s mine. 🙂

    Blog name: ‘In the Center of the Roof’

    Post title: ‘Carnival Post – My First meeting with a guide dog’

    URL: http://raynaadi.blogspot.com/2010/10/carnival-post-my-first-meeting-with.html

    Not sure if WordPress comments allow html but just in case, here’s the post for ease.

  20. 21 Carin October 15, 2010 at 12:29 pm

    Hi. I have a post for ya. The blog is Vomit Comet, the title of the post is “What Showed Me The Way To Getting A Guide Dog” and the link is http://vomitcomet.blogspot.com/2010/10/what-showed-me-way-to-getting-guide-dog.html

  21. 22 Sherlock October 15, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Here’s mine. The blog is Sherlock’s Stuff and the post is Beau’s First Mall Adventure

    http://stuffhappens1.blogspot.com/2010/10/beaus-first-mall-adventure.html

  22. 23 Jenny October 15, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Here’s mine.
    Not the pic I planned to put up but can’t find it, and there’s nobody here to look for me at the minute. If I don’t post it now, it might never get sent 🙂

    The blogs called paws for thought, and the post is about the first time I met my first guide dog.
    http://jenny-theguidedogblog.blogspot.com/2010/10/first-time-i-met-him.html

  23. 24 torie October 15, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Hey Sharren. Here is my post. My blog is at
    The Average Blog By An Average Blogger
    and my post is called
    The Assistance Dog Blog Carnival:First Times….
    Enjoy!!! And what a wonderful idea! Xxx.

  24. 25 patti brehler October 16, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Don’t know if you got my submission…

    My blog is plays with puppies at http://www.playswithpuppies.blogspot.com

    My post is: My First…Future Leader Dog Puppy
    here is the link: http://playswithpuppies.blogspot.com/2010/10/my-firstfuture-leader-dog-puppy.html

    My blog is about my experiences and thoughts raising puppies for Leader Dogs for the Blind. I include photographs and poetry and other stories!

    Thanks for doing this and I’ll be happy to host a future edition!

  25. 27 Curasmom October 16, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    Here is my Carnival post:

    Blog: Cura’s Corner
    Title: It’s Carnival! Let’s Party!
    URL: http://curascorner.blogspot.com/2010/10/its-carnival-lets-party.html

  26. 29 Beverly October 17, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Here is my post.

    Blog: Assistance Dog Training- Psych dog
    Title: My first Days with Indy
    Linky: http://adtraining.blogspot.com/2010/10/my-first-days-with-indy.html

    I hope that is how you wanted it.

  27. 31 patti brehler October 17, 2010 at 10:12 pm

    Sharon–I have not seen my comment about the carnival yet. Did you get it? Or is it not appropriate?

    My blog: http://www.playswithpuppies.blogspot.com

    My post: My First…Future Leader Dog Puppy at:
    http://playswithpuppies.blogspot.com/2010/10/my-firstfuture-leader-dog-puppy.html

    Thanks! patti and FLD Gus

  28. 32 L^2 October 19, 2010 at 7:48 am

    I made it! 🙂 I didn’t think I would get this finished with being in guide dog training and all right now, but here it is: First vs. Second at my blog, Dog’s Eye View.

  29. 33 Carin October 19, 2010 at 7:55 am

    Woe dude, that’s dedication.

  30. 34 thetroubleis October 19, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    Freedom.
    http://thetroubleisme.wordpress.com/2010/10/19/freedom/

    I’m so sorry about the wait, I’ve been dealing with insurance messups for the past week and just got it sorted.

  31. 35 Tonja October 23, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Great Idea! I love reading the posts!
    Tonja

  32. 36 Sharon Wachsler October 24, 2010 at 1:29 am

    Patti,
    I’m so sorry! Your comments all ended up in my spam folder — gak! Fortunately, I just decided to empty the spam. This is the first time that a legit comment has ever ended up there, I think.
    Anyway, YES, your post is totally relevant, and I’m glad to have it in the carnival.
    Also, I fortunately came across it myself a few days ago, so I already have it in the post, which will go up in 24 hours.

  33. 37 Sharon Wachsler October 24, 2010 at 1:39 am

    Hey everyone,

    I think the carnival post is done! I’m just proofing and checking that all the links work.

    It will go up in about 24 hours. (Midnight tomorrow.)

    There were so many submissions, and with my cognitive impairment, I’m afraid I might have left someone out. So, here’s who I’ve got. If you wrote a blog for the carnival, and it’s not listed here, please holla!
    Center of Roof
    Vomit comet
    Gilbert and me
    paws for thought
    average blog by average blogger
    assistance dog training – psych dog
    dog’s eye view
    the trouble is
    college and disability
    the crps girl
    sherlock’s stuff
    Raising K9
    plays with puppies
    from puppy to public access
    by my side
    cura’s corner

    and the Jan. isue is being hosted by L^2, eh?

    OK, hope that’s all correct. If not, shout!


  1. 1 Twitted by Raynaadi Trackback on October 9, 2010 at 11:10 pm
  2. 2 Of new years « Some Assembly Required Trackback on January 4, 2011 at 2:59 pm
  3. 3 The Struggle of Decisions « Some Assembly Required Trackback on January 5, 2011 at 1:35 pm
  4. 4 Puppy Raisers¹ « Gentle Wit Trackback on January 17, 2011 at 4:06 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Receive new blog posts right in your email!

Join 577 other subscribers
Follow AfterGadget on Twitter

Want to Support this Blog?

About this Blog

Assistance Dog Blog Carnival

Read Previous After Gadget Posts